The type of dumbbell swings I do, how they train the body, and their physical-spiritual purpose

This note was in response to questions a person posed to me on a spiritual site.

This exercise does not create large muscles which is why I weigh only 125 lbs at 5′ 10″ tall.  It is mainly a cardiovascular exercise helping my heart and circulation to be really in top form.  When I take the dumbbell behind my head/neck, and then lift it back over, I do use my triceps.  I started doing this when I had been doing a pushup challenge, and decided it was better just to extend my dumbbell swing to behind my head instead.  It is complicated, but this change in my dumbbell swings made them even better at putting me in extremely intense and difficult physical/spiritual states which is why I do them.

The type of modified dumbbell swing exercise that I do is mainly an endurance exercise.  It does keep a lot of muscles well toned!  It does use the neck muscles above the shoulders a lot, which I believe is very valuable since these muscles are so close to the brain.  I use these neck muscles as a focal point when doing my meditative runs and walks, and even use them a lot with my stretching exercises. I do believe the development of the spiritual parts of the brain related to emotion and sleep are essential to one spiritual strength and awareness.  I do tend to focus on these parts of my brain when meditating and exercising.  My lower back has hurt at times, but I just have to regularly stretch my back(especially when doing my meditative walks) in order to prevent muscle tightness there which I believe causes the problem.

A lot of people my age and even younger tend to have a lot of aches and pains.  I am doing very well keeping myself extremely healthy physically and spiritually and avoiding any injuries that could harm my progress in this area.  I am good at this because I have had an extreme spiritual focus on health and fitness my whole life and have become really tuned into my body and can read it really well as a result.  I will not go into the reasons for my extreme motivations in this area and why I feel I do things that others would be unwilling or unable to do because they would see no reason to do it based on their beliefs, and the fact that they can survive well enough to meet their spiritual/physical needs without having to deal with the extreme emotional/spiritual duress involves in developing and performing such exercises!

1/25/17 I deepened the squat to these modified(bent elbows and behind head) 2 handed dumbbell swings so that they would take a little longer so that I could breath in and 15 times during the whole 6 minutes.  I need a huge amount of spiritual intensity to reach a world that is so backward spiritually and so stuck in its ways!

  • 10/03/17  Now doing the squat a lot deeper bringing the 20 lb dumbbell close to my knees with my head also brought down at the lower part of the swing to be very close to the dumbbell also with my elbows very bent while at this lowest position.  My head does follow the dumbbell up as it rises and then is lifted over the head and behind it.  I may seem like quite a convoluted form of dumbbell swing, but it works well to put me into the most intense of spiritual states possible!  I now do 19 to 21 in and out breaths per dumbbell swing.  Extremely hard exercise to do which I can only do as a result of all my previous exercise training, my spiritual theories(astrology system) that help me tune my body in really well  spiritually, my other meditative training techniques, and my diet!
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Thomas Goodwin "astrogoodwin"

