Running/cardiovascular exercise, injuries and interpreting pain

Very hard to figure out how much one can safely get away in regard to a body part that is hurt to some degree and letting you know this through pain. General muscle soreness feels different than a very targeted pain in a specific body part. It is important to figure out what the problem might be, before accessing whether one can still exercise. I would monitor what ever pain I was feeling very carefully when warming up or exercising on a less intense level in order to evaluate exactly what I can safely get away with without aggravating the problem. One has to depend on a certain intuitive sense. Often an injury is not that serious and leaves one with enough strength to exercise on a less intense level or in a different way that avoids using the injured part as much.

I once got an impact injury to my knee when running a 1/2 marathon trail race, but finished the race before the knee really started hurting. I had built up a lot of weekly mileage that I did not want to lose, and thought that since my body had finished the race after the impact injury okay, that I should be able to run on that injury somehow. So, I would take quite a while to warm up while my knee was in a lot of pain, but once warmed up the pain would be a lot less so I would run carefully continuing with similar amount of weekly mileage. I would ice down my knee afterwards. It took about a month to heal. I had run with knee injuries before while healing them, but never one that had that much pain involved.

I am now dealing with pain in my lower back, but am managing to control this while continuing my exercise routine, but must constantly stretch my back, since I believe it is muscle tightness that causes the area to become more inflamed. This strategy seems to be working. I feel one can often intuitively sense how much tension an injured/hurt body part can handle, and how to limit ones exercise in order to protect it.

Often, I feel when one overdoes ones exercise the body chemistry will be affected(may become more acidic)and in turn can inflame a vulnerable body part making it more subject to being injured/hurt. I feel one needs to gain the ability to read your body cues so one can adjust ones intensity so as to better avoid harming oneself physically in some way. I find extra breathing often helps and often focusing more on ones upper body movements often helps one protect ones legs. It is such a fine line between pushing ones limits and going beyond ones limits and harming oneself. One just has to focus an awful lot on what is happening with ones body when one exercises. Focusing too much on other things while exercising can lessen ones ability to pick up the subtle signals the body is sending you. The more you focus on what signals the body is sending you the better you become at interpreting them.

I must state that can be very risky to not have certain(non-minor) injuries check out by medical professionals to determine their cause and what treatment would be advisable in order to help fix and properly rehabilitate them..

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

  • Thomas Goodwin "astrogoodwin"

